Fuelin' Roadie
Nutrition tips for the bands playing their hearts out one town to the next!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Cast away your thoughts that I will ridicule the enormous amounts of food on this day!  Yes, I realize there are those who think nutritionists (aka dietitians) feel that people should sustain themselves on tofu and vegetables, but the TRUTH is—that is simply not the case!  All foods can fit and a single day of gluttony does not pack on the extra 25lbs of fat so many people carry around.

Today, I spend without my immediate family and instead give thanks to my extended military family for taking me in this holiday season.  I am so blessed to have such a large family amongst my NSW friends. I thankful that my husband is “safe” (albeit perhaps my head only), my family is healthy, I have a roof over my head, and food on my plate!  Speaking of food, here is my menu for the day…

Smoked Turkey with Pancetta & Sage Gravy

Steamed Green Beans

Sausage & Parmesan Stuffing

Sweet Potato Casserole

Mashed Potatoes

Rolls

Cranberry Relish

Apple Dumplings

Pumpkin Pie

I am in charge of the desserts, the turkey, & the relish–all from scratch! Cooking over the holidays and feeding those I love most comes with euphoric feelings.  I also look forward for the leftovers to follow!  If you interested in how I whip up some of these treats check out my food blog at www.EdibleNutrition.blogspot.com for recipes.

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours! Eat Well, Be Well, & Enjoy Today!

~The Roadie Nutritionist

No Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

Leave a Reply

